The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Just thinking out of the box

3 posters

Go down

Just thinking out of the box Empty Just thinking out of the box

Post  AndromedaStrain Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:18 am

Hi All,

fired up with enthusiasm, I've ordered some of the bits needed for my first project. During that process was just pondering - I'm new at this, so bear with me - why does the laminar nozzle have to be circular? I can see that a number of things have to come good in order to get laminar flow at all but with perseverance it is clearly attainable. Is there any physical reason why, the orifice can't be, for example, a thinnish rectangle?, that would lead to the intriguing possibility of a rotating nozzle giving a corkscrew flow, similarly, an arrangement of small circular nozzles - etc etc.

Probably pie in the sky but unless I hear it's against the laws of physics, it's something I'd like to play with someday Mad

Cheers

Ed

AndromedaStrain
Nozzle Newbie
Nozzle Newbie

Back to top Go down

Just thinking out of the box Empty Re: Just thinking out of the box

Post  John Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:21 am

That would be pretty awesome! I'm not sure if that would be possible or not. As I am just a newbie as well I'm not sure that the flow would work. As I understand, if you have a pipe then after the water travels some distance, it develops a fully developed flow. This velocity profile is a parabola.

How we use this to our benefit is to break up the large velocity profile into lots and lots of little ones, thus the straws. Once it exits the straws the profiles merge and "average" out to a constant profile (same speed). Once it hits the exit it will be a nice clean laminar flow fountain shooting through the air.

Now I'm not sure what would happen with a rectangle output, but I suspect that you would get some water moving faster in the corners. I don't really know just my thoughts.
John