The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Addicted Hobbiest in Wyoming

3 posters

Go down

Addicted Hobbiest in Wyoming Empty Addicted Hobbiest in Wyoming

Post  Ike Mon May 03, 2010 12:17 pm

Hey all,

I'm an electrical engineer and admittedly an addicted hobbyist who has been inspired by these forums to make my next project a laminar fountain! I've always had a love for water and waterfalls so building a laminar fountain seems like a perfectly natural thing for me to take up. I've got almost all my parts ordered already and they should be getting here this week so I'm really anxious to get started!

I currently live in Wyoming with my wife (where there is still snow on the ground) but am on a long term project in Indianapolis where I will be traveling during the week and where I will most likely be doing most of my work. I do process automation (programming PLCs for assembly lines and formulation processes) for a small contracting firm and I enjoy it quite a bit.

Being an EE my expertise is much more in the electronics part of this project so I'm hoping that once I get going my contribution to the community will come in the form some circuit diagrams and programs. I have some early schematics and programs for both a pump control circuit (to vary the length of the water arc) and some high power LED driver circuits. I also plan to connect to my pump/LED control board via ethernet which I will tie in to my home network and build a webpage that will let me control everything (control via webpage on my blackberry for remote automation is the goal) But of course that's a ways down the road and I need to get my nozzle to actually work first Razz