The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Difference between small tubing and big tubing- french laminar flow project

2 posters

Go down

Difference between small tubing and big tubing- french laminar flow project Empty Difference between small tubing and big tubing- french laminar flow project

Post  Robotman Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:19 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to this forum and don't yet know how it works so sorry if my post is not posted correctly!

I'm a french engineering student working on a big project that would involve using around ten laminar jets (that we are planning to build) and music to do a controled choregraphy for an event. The ultimate goal would be to use all those jets and control them indepedently with valvesin order to create a nice musical and visual show!

Me and my team are currently working on a prototype to find ou the perfect parameters that would allow us to have an arch of approximatively 2.5m high and 3m widht. We have a few questions that you guys might be able to answer (maybe they are already on the forum but we couldn't really find an answer):

1) We have created two prototypes with different width of PVC tubings/pipes. The first one we made had a width of 125mm, the second one had a width of 200mm. When we tested them, we didn't see lots of differences but we seemed to agree that the one with larger tubing was the best! The problem is that since we are going to create a whole lot of jets, it would be nice to reduce the costs by using thinner pipes (they cost less and the number of straws necessary to fill them is smaller so cheaper!) What would you recommand and could someone explain why everyone who create big arches of water seems to want to use big diameter tubing?

) Does anyone know a pomp that would work well or give out its caracteristics in terms of flow rate and working preassure?