The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Multiple jets from a single laminar container...Is it possible?

2 posters

Go down

Multiple jets from a single laminar container...Is it possible? Empty Multiple jets from a single laminar container...Is it possible?

Post  Zac Penn Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:18 pm

I just found this website yesterday morning, and have read through about every post in this forum, and haven't found an answer.

I don't think anyone has tried it yet, and the closest thing I could find was the multiple jet patent that is used on hot tubs. That idea would be nice for a small 2' long stream, but i want to create something large that has two or three jets that can be angled from the same container.

I have lots of plastic welding experience, and currently have 12", 16", and 24" sch 40 PVC pipe laying around the warehouse, so I know I can make a container large enough to slow the water velocity down, but the multiple nozzles is where I am unsure. From what I have learned so far, the cleanest streams of water are being created by the machined brass inserts. The side that goes inside the nozzle is flat, and the side exposed to the air, has a taper to it that starts out very sharp....Correct?

Here is a quick drawing to help out with the following questions...
Multiple jets from a single laminar container...Is it possible? Jetexamples

Example "A" would be the best way for the brass insert to be mounted correct?

Would example "B" create distortion to the stream?

Would it be possible to use a 16" diameter container to mount three brass inserts like in example "C"? The center jet seems like it would work just fine, but I am unsure what would happen with the two angled jets? Got any ideas?