The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

clear plexi top

5 posters

Go down

clear plexi top Empty clear plexi top

Post  billyc Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:07 pm

Hi
yes I am the newbie here now, my name is billy I am from New Jersey USA. I am so happy to have found this forum. I wanted to know why all of the tops are clear? couldint I just use 4" or 8"pvc and a hard cap? then drill out for a brass nozzel to start. what am I missing.

billyc
Nozzle Newbie
Nozzle Newbie

Back to top Go down

clear plexi top Empty Re: clear plexi top

Post  liteglow Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:22 am

Hi and welcome Smile
We are also glad you did join us Very Happy

I use lexan on the top, reason is that I dont find any other material to use !!
Lexan is more softer than plexi, my plexi did actually break because of the pressure from the pump Razz

One other way why I use clear lexan is that you more easy can see that everything is OK inside the nozzle.
You can also see if any alges is starting to tear up the inside !
liteglow
liteglow
Admin

https://laminar.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Post  John Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:36 am

Hey! It's nice to meet you.

I started with a 4" diameter tube and used a cap for the nozzle. Plastic as the nozzle doesn't work you can't get it cut round enough. Then I went to a design similar to what you are saying. That worked just fine, however, the arc wasn't big enough for me. So that is why I went to an 8" nozzle. You could use 8" end caps and cut the hole for the brass ring, but the reason I didn't do that is that the end caps get really expensive. You will also have to verify that the end caps are flat on the interior. You don't want to have a rounded interior because that will just mess up the flow.