The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Insufficient jet range - HELP ASAP

3 posters

Go down

Insufficient jet range - HELP ASAP Empty Insufficient jet range - HELP ASAP

Post  ezynr1 Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:36 am

Hi all,

I'm a mechanical engineering student manufacturing a laminar jumping jet as part of a project and when I connect the system to a mains water supply and also a pump I am getting a very poor range, suggesting there are huge pressure losses within my system. The range I get is about 2 feet maximum.

I am using a 4 inch diameter tube, 11 inches long with a 20mm (0.8 inch) converging nozzle. The input from the pump/ mains tap is a 10mm diameter tube.

Hopefully the images below work and you can see what I mean. The flow is perfectly laminar and has the standard scouring pads, straws set up although it has an axial input (which i doubt has any impact on the range). The mains water supply has a range of about 15 feet  yet when connected to the laminar jet it deteriorates massively.

I dont have any air release valves attached as the instruction video and a few others ive seen didnt include these.

Does anybody know why this is, or what I can try to resolve this? Any help would be greatly appreciated as my deadline is soon approaching.

https://i.servimg.com/u/f55/18/80/99/64/img_3911.jpg

https://i.servimg.com/u/f55/18/80/99/64/img_3710.jpg

https://i.servimg.com/u/f55/18/80/99/64/img_3711.jpg

Thanks in advance,

Nick

ezynr1
Nozzle Newbie
Nozzle Newbie

Back to top Go down

Insufficient jet range - HELP ASAP Empty Re: Insufficient jet range - HELP ASAP

Post  PWFK Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:15 am