The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

"moving" aiming the jet

2 posters

Go down

"moving" aiming the jet Empty "moving" aiming the jet

Post  Rickster Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:57 am

I've got the bug.

Has anyone tried dynamically computerized redirecting/aiming the jet?

I'm thinking I can draw circles in my pool.
Hearts.
Sine waves (horizontal or vertical)
And of course the corkscrew.

Ive got a bunch of ideas to iron out, but I think I'm gonna do it.

(it helps that I have 30 years experience as an embedded systems designer and programmer)

Rickster
Nozzle Newbie
Nozzle Newbie

Back to top Go down

"moving" aiming the jet Empty Re: "moving" aiming the jet

Post  Ike Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:04 am

Yes! Please keep me in the loop on what you do as I'm working on some similar ideas.

I'm teaching myself python and flask on a beaglebone black to be my motor controller. Starting out I'm using a 12v DC pump with a motor driver from pololu.com and will very the pump speed to create a "walking arch" that grows and shrinks. My list of priorities right now is set like this Pump Control->RGB Lighting->Cutter->Nozzle Motorized Movement.

My end goal is to laminar nozzles pointed at each other that can move around and sometimes walk up each other or cut intermittently between each other. The effect of two laminar streams hitting each other head on is really cool in that is creates a sheet of water perpendicular to the original stream flows. I have a lot of motor/robotics experience but not a lot of linux/python/web experience so its a little slow going on that end but should pick up once I nail it down. I'd be interested in some collaboration if anything overlaps!

Ike
Nozzle Novice
Nozzle Novice

Back to top Go down

Post  Rickster Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:25 pm

My plan is to make a nozzle.