The Laminar Project Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Nozzle without straws

4 posters

Go down

Nozzle without straws Empty Nozzle without straws

Post  ioncube Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:44 pm

Hi,

Just wondered if anyone else has tried nozzles without straws? I started playing with nozzles last summer, read the patents, and experimented with different inlet designs, ordered samples of foam and then sheets of it for filters and lining my nozzle, and of course went the straws route trying a couple of different diameters and lengths. I think the sainsburys checkout staff here in the UK must have thought there was going to be one heck of a party! I had fine results over a decent distance. Out of curiosity I thought I'd try without straws, and to my surprise, the nozzle worked just as well, and a few layers of foam and gaps to let the turbulences cancel out seemed to be sufficient.

ioncube
Nozzle Newbie
Nozzle Newbie

Back to top Go down

Nozzle without straws Empty Re: Nozzle without straws

Post  AndromedaStrain Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:30 pm

Hi Ioncube,

Interesting, but it doesn't surprise me that you can get 'laminar' flow from a single orifice (straw, essentially) - I've often wondered what all the extraneous straws are doing. Like you, I bought a few thousand straws, not from Sainsburys - being a mean Scotsman, I bought them from a Pub supplier. Lack of time has prevented me from getting anything built yet but as soon as I've finished the current three/four projects plus the day job, I intend getting stuck in. One of the first things to do if/when I have any success is to build the Epcot Centre in a 6 inch bowl. Very Happy

Best of Luck

Ed

AndromedaStrain
Nozzle Newbie
Nozzle Newbie

Back to top Go down

Nozzle without straws Empty Reynolds number

Post  ioncube Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:12 am